Not All Tattoo Ink Is Vegan

Non-vegan tattoo inks can contain anything from bone char, used to increase pigment, glycerin from animal fat, gelatin from hooves, or insect parts. And for the most part, unless explicitly stated, it should be assumed that tattoo ink is not vegan.

Image may contain: one or more people and closeup

The stencil paper used by tattoo shops is commonly made from lanolin, which comes from sheep’s wool, and disposable razors often have glycerine in the razor strips, according to The Vegan Society.

Fortunately, as tattoos have become mainstream and artists have continued to experiment with designs and new techniques, getting a vegan tattoo has also become possible - it just requires a little extra research. Even then, there are still risks vegans should bear in mind.

No comments:

Post a Comment

√ Welcome to China 🇨🇳 Travel Group